02
Jun
08

Welcome to the New Realms

Hey, guys. Many years ago, I launched my first website, EvertimeRealms.com. The site was essentially a blog with links to everything I was, or had been, working on at the time. I maintained it best I could for several years, but eventually it got to be too much to maintain, working in html (of which I am incredibly far from an expert) and I wound up abandoning it for things like LiveJournal, MySpace, and so on. But in the back of my head, I knew I’d always want to bring it back, to have something professional looking, because while I may be teaching right now, we all know that’s not what I want to be doing forever.

For many reasons, I’ve decided that NOW is the time to rebuild my own website, to resurrect the Realms, as it were. I’ve been very impressed by a lot of sites I’ve seen online crafted with WordPress, so I’ll be trying that out myself for the next few weeks. What you’re seeing now is the “soft launch” of the site. I’m sending this link to selected people, people I like and trust, to look at the site as it evolves. Now that I’m out of school for the summer, I intend to spend some time each day tinkering with the site and adding new content. Then, once I’m satisfied with the look and functionality of the site, I’m going to redirect the EvertimeRealms.com URL to point here and “hard launch” it, making announcements on various websites, the podcast and everywhere else.

So what sort of content should you expect to see here? Well, during this soft launch I’m going to be focusing on building archive pages. I’ve already got an archive page of all of my comic book reviews (it’s enormous, isn’t it?), and this week I’ll add pages with the archives for the 2 in 1 Showcase podcast, my Everything But Imaginary columns, my online Think About It columns, all of the original fiction I’ve got online, all of the book and movie reviews I’ve placed on my various sites, and finally, one last catch-all with other articles that don’t quite seem to fit anywhere else (such as a lot of the stuff in the Christmas and Halloween Party articles).

But archives aren’t really fun unless you’ve got the time to dig through them, and I intend to give you guys stuff to actually read here too. I’ll be posting often (I’m not going to promise daily, because my promises in this instance often go broken, and I don’t want to do that again), so I’d like you to check back often. I’ll be posting about the evolution of the site, I’ll post about what I’m working on, I’ll post announcements for new columns, reviews and podcasts, and I’ll post about goofy things that happen to come to mind. I want you guys to enjoy reading this site, not feel like you have to come here just because I’m trying to get my act together. While I’m posting these things, I’d like to encourage you guys to post in the comments (or e-mail me at BlakePT@cox.net) with as much feedback as possible. I really want to hear from you guys. Tell me what you like and don’t like about this site, give suggestions, help me to figure out how to make this site great. (This especially goes for those of you out there who have built sites of your own… Uncle Todd, Craig… I’m looking at you guys.)

Then, once I’m ready to launch this site not just as “blakemp.wordpress.com” but as the all-new Evertime Realms, I’m going to make a big announcement about my next project. I’m not going to give any details about it until that hard launch, but for those of you who were around when original Evertime Realms was launched, do you remember my anchor feature? The thing I conjured up every week to try to entice people to come back? Well, it’ll be along those lines.

So start the commenting, friends. Look around the place. Let me know what you think.

And get ready to help me make this place the best it can be.

5 Responses to “Welcome to the New Realms”


  1. June 2, 2008 at 3:35 am

    Yay! It’s back! I love you Blake, and look forward to seeing what you do here

  2. 2 blakemp
    June 1, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    Thanks, sweetheart. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that everyone else likes it too. 😉

  3. June 2, 2008 at 1:26 am

    Looks good so far, Blake! Yay!

  4. 4 Joe
    June 2, 2008 at 8:09 am

    Hey Blake. Is this a website where you can do E-books? Read and Submit them? Just curious.
    Cool Website too dude. By the way, after I move, my email will stay the same. Either the one I listed or brojoe143@bellsouth.net. Rule Cool

  5. 5 blakemp
    June 2, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Joe,

    The beauty of WordPress is that you could do just about anything with the basic format, including e-Books. Plus, it’s free and very customizable. Once I played around with it for a few hours I was very comfortable with the format.

    Glad you like the site — keep checking back!


Leave a Reply

Blake’s Twitter Feed

June 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 301,574 hits

Blake's Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


