13
Jun
08

Observations From the Teacher’s Desk: Watches

Time for a new feature here at the ‘Realms, one you probably won’t see very often during the summer months: Observations From the Teacher’s Desk. Readers who have been with me for a long time no doubt remember my observations about life at the newspaper. (Boy, if only you guys had known some of the stuff I was holding back…) Well, now I spend my working days with teenagers, trying to get them to appreciate the likes of Shakespeare, Tennyson, Twain and Bradbury. These observations won’t necessarily have anything to do with the subject at hand, though. Sometimes they’ll just be something that strikes me as… odd.

For example, my first observation: kids these days don’t seem to wear watches anymore. Out of the 70-plus kids I taught this year, I could count the ones who wore a watch every day on one hand. And honestly, why do they need a watch? Everything they own already has a clock in it: their cell phone, their MP3 player, their portable video game unit, their tasers… The problem is, all of these things they own that have clocks are not allowed in school. This leaves me either with a kid trying to explain it’s okay to have his cell phone out in class because he’s only “checking the time,” or more frequently, a kid who asks me what time it is every 15 minutes every day of his life.

And if you put an analog clock on the wall? Man, you don’t even want to know how well that goes.

So parents, as a teacher I implore you: give your kids watches. Get them in the habit of wearing them. I dunno, pretend you think they’re stupid — that seems to be the best way to get a teenager to do something. In fact, I’m going to submit that as a proposal to the schoolboard next August: amend the dress code to ban wristwatches. We’ll never have a kid needing to ask the time again.

3 Responses to “Observations From the Teacher’s Desk: Watches”


  1. 1 endithinks
    June 13, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    I think one of the best observations I have made has been the total disconnect with the country they live in’s history. I mean some of my former students couldn’t even tell me who the first president of the United States was.

  2. 2 blakemp
    June 13, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Without a doubt. If you guys out there ever want to feel really, REALLY bad about the future leaders of this country, come and ask me for a list of the topics my students don’t know the first thing about…

  3. June 13, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    That smells like your next observation 😉


Leave a Reply

Blake’s Twitter Feed

June 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 300,352 hits

Blake's Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


