27
Jun
08

Whaddaya want from me?

Well, guys, I knew this day would come. When I relaunched the ‘Realms, I never entertained the thought of having a post every single day — experience has taught me that, in the long term, that simply isn’t possible. I’d hoped to have something up here every day for at least the first month, though, something to help get people in the habit of coming back on a regular basis, looking at what I’m throwing out there for you guys, and sharing. But here I am, today, just short of the four-week mark, and I’ve got nothing to post about.

So instead of going blank, I’m going to ask you guys: what do you want to see here at the ‘Realms? I’ve covered just about all the categories that you can expect to see here regularly, but I want to know just what you think about them. What are you favorite things I do here? Do you like the movie reviews? The book reviews? The comic book talk? The television discussion?

Do you like general “Think About It” rants like my musings on movie merchandise? Do you come by to see the links to my reviews, columns and podcasts at Comixtreme? What about thinks like The Adventures of the Superbuddies? When I started this, I intended for it to be a semi-professional website, and although I have no intention of ignoring my friends and family, I didn’t want to post too much personal stuff unless I had a particularly funny, interesting, moving or otherwise memorable story. But is that what you guys want to read here? Because I got plenty more where that came from.

How about fiction? Summer Love isn’t going anywhere, you’ll get a new chapter every Monday come hell or high water. But would you like to read more fiction from me? Honestly, I’m not sure what I’ve got that isn’t online, unfinished or too embarrassing to share with people, but if that’s what you want, I’ll try to give it to you.

So here’s what I want you to do guys. Up at the top of this post, you see that little link where it tells you how many comments the post currently has? Click on that and give me YOUR comment. What do you want to see at Evertime Realms? What can I give you guys to keep you entertained, keep you interested, and keep you coming back for more?

It’s my site, but I’m doing this to give you guys something worth reading. So let me know what you want.

3 Responses to “Whaddaya want from me?”


  1. 1 Philip
    June 27, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    I’m a fan of the podcast which is how I came to find this blog. So far the book and movie reviews have been the most interesting to me. I ended up buying “The Brief History of the Dead” thanks to your recommendation and really enjoyed it. I think it would also be great if you did comic reviews of older works; books you might not cover soon on the show and wouldn’t be reviewed at comixtreme. There are so many underrated stories out there one can find in the dollar bins and I’m sure you know have at least a couple personal faves. With that said, any type of new content will keep me coming back, but the reviews so far have been fantastic.

  2. 2 blakemp
    June 27, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Thanks, Philip, I really appreciate that. I actually do occasionally write reviews of older comics at a LiveJournal community I moderate, The Back Issue Bin (http://community.livejournal.com/backissuebin/). I’ve also got all of those individual reviews listed on the comic review archive page (see the link at the top). I just may work in reviews of older stuff here on the front page of the Realms from time to time, although it will probably be trade paperbacks or collected editions and not individual issues. Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. 3 llamatronic
    June 28, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Keep writing the movie and book reviews. Being a writer myself, I also enjoyed the “how i review” piece. It’s all well done.


Leave a Reply

Blake’s Twitter Feed

June 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 301,574 hits

Blake's Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


