01
Feb
10

Classroom Conversations: “And His Brother Was in New Kids on the Block”

Two of my students made me feel really old today. It was the end of class, right before lunch, and they were waiting for the bell to ring. I heard two of them having a conversation.*

STUDENT 1: Hey, you know that actor Mark Wahlberg?

STUDENT 2: Who?

STUDENT 1: The one from Invincible?

STUDENT 2: Aw yeah, him.

STUDENT 1: Did you know he used to rap?

STUDENT 2: What? Dude, no way.

I felt compelled to step into the conversation at this point.

ME: You guys are killing me. I remember when I was saying to people, ‘Can you believe that Marky Mark is going to try to act?

STUDENT 2: No way, he didn’t call himself that, did he?

I decided not to risk blowing their minds my introducing the concept of “The Funky Bunch.”

* Conversations are not transcribed verbatim. They are altered for length, to provide appropriate context, and to make them funnier whenever necessary. Frankly, all you can count on in these posts is that at some point, I had a conversation with somebody about some subject.

2 Responses to “Classroom Conversations: “And His Brother Was in New Kids on the Block””


  1. February 1, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    The universe is a funny place sometimes. I was having a very similar conversation at work, although it was more about the relationship between Donnie Wahlberg to the character of Johnny Drama on Entourage. I can’t remember if it started with a question about the New Kids.

  2. February 1, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    I can see a whole book from a teacher’s perspective: ‘Things Overheard on the Schoolground’.


Leave a Reply

Blake’s Twitter Feed

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Blog Stats

  • 299,000 hits

Blake's Flickr Photos

IMG_2219

IMG_2218

IMG_2217

More Photos

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


