14
Aug
10

Thinking About… The Curtain

Once I finish up editing Opening Night of the Dead, I’m going to need a new writing project to work on. Sadly, “Summer Love” still hasn’t completely come together in my head, so I can’t quite get back to that one. I’ve got something else that’s sloooowly germinating, but not something that’ll be ready to go to paper any time soon. But there’s something that I’ve been pondering for a while. It gets back to something I wrote a few weeks ago about why I think Douglas Adams’ Hitchhiker’s Guide series petered out, while Terry Pratchett’s Discworld has remained viable for decades. Pratchett, unlike Adams, made the world itself his star, and has draped lots of different characters into the situations of that world. I’ve got an idea that plays off that, a world that I think could be really interesting and open itself up to lots of different groups of characters and lots of different kinds of stories.

At the moment, I’ve got several scenarios, characters, and short story ideas that would tie into this world, although no longer-form works (except for the ones that are already a part of the world that I’ve written). What I’m thinking of doing is composing stories in the extreme short form, maybe a scene at a time. The scenes would each fall into several categories of different serials, which I would bring into contact with one another whenever the story demanded it, introduce new ones when I wanted, and phase out others if they stopped interesting me. It’s actually very similar, in format, to David Morgan-Mar’s Irregular Webcomic.

I’d want to do it regularly, but not in the volume of some of my other things. Two or three “scenes” a week seems reasonable to me. And it’s something that could easily spin off into longer-form stories (novels or other media, should the opportunity arise) if the longer stories occurred to me. It’s something I think would be fun.

And yes, The Curtain is my working title for the overall project. That doesn’t mean anything to you yet. But if I do this right, it will.

Just something I’m thinking about.

1 Response to “Thinking About… The Curtain”


  1. August 18, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Here is what I need – because I am both lazy and busy – I want some kind of chart / list / whatever that outlines where your stories fall in their respective universes. For instance, I’m a big fan of Other People’s Heroes (duh), so I know loosely what other stories relate. But it would be nice to have something more concrete so that I didn’t have to dig.

    And now that I have a job (again) it would be good to have a list where I can find those stories so I can buy them.

    I don’t know if anyone else wants this, but it would help me out a lot!


Leave a Reply

Blake’s Twitter Feed

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 300,352 hits

Blake's Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


